National Telangana

To capture the post of mayor in small numbers, TRS will have to seek the support of MIM

Hyderabad: The ruling TRS, which had fallen short of the number required to take the mayor authority, could seek the support of AIMIM. In return, TRS is expected to offer Asaduddin Owaisi the position of deputy mayor in AIMIM.

although, TRS acting president KT Rama Rao said on Friday that the party has not decided anything on the mayoral candidate and its election ,as they has two months to decide.

TRS party sources said that if AIMIM and BJP do not field their candidates for the coveted post, the election will be completed by hand. A senior TRP leader said, “Since the whip is issued by the parties in elections for their members, there is no chance of cross-voting.”

Despite the friendly relationship between TRS and AIMIM, the ruling party did not give any position to the Majlis Party as TRS won the 2016 election with a thumping majority and did not require the support. A source said, “This time, AIMIM can extract a lot from the TRS, including the post of mayor.”

The TRS has emerged as the single largest party with 55 seats, but it will still need the support of 10 members after using the votes of its 31 ex-members. While the BJP has emerged as the second largest party, it has only two ex-officio members – Kishan Reddy and T Raja Singh.

“The TRS alone has 77 ex-officio members, including MLAs, MPs (both Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha) and MLCs who live in Hyderabad and are registered with the GHMC. The votes of 46 members were used in previous municipalities and municipal elections to win the post of chair person and mayor, ”said a senior party official.

The TRS has 31 ex-officio members, while the AIMIM has 10 members and the BJP two. A teacher MLC (Narsi Reddy) and d. Srinivas, who is technically in TRS but keeps himself away from party activities, is also an ex-officio member. These members may participate in the mayor and deputy mayor elections and vote.

The situation is the same in other parties. Congress MP A Revanth Reddy voted in Kompalli municipality and BJP MLC N Ramchander Rao in Makhthal municipality.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *